Virginia Concealed Carry

DISCLAIMER  

It is YOUR responsibility to verify all of this information. We make every effort to keep the information on this page accurate and timely. However, due to the legal nature of the information, we are NOT able to guarantee its' accuracy.

APPLYING FOR A VIRGINIA CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT

Residents

Detailed information is available from the Virginia State Police 

The application, along with instructions, may be downloaded Here

Non Residents

Detailed information is available from the Virginia State Police 

The application, along with instructions, will be provided as part of the Permit Application Package that will be sent to you by the State Police.

MY PERMIT IS TAKING MORE THAN 45 DAYS TO APPROVE

A VCDL supported law went into effect on July 1st, 2004 which provides that if the court has not issued or denied the permit within 45 days of the date of receipt noted on the application, the clerk shall certify on the application that the 45-day period has expired, and send a copy of the certified application to the applicant. The certified application shall serve as a de facto permit, which shall expire 90 days after issuance, and shall be recognized as a valid concealed handgun permit when presented with a valid government-issued photo identification. 

If you are having a problem with getting your permit or de facto permit, the Circuit Courts in Virginia are supervised by the Chief Justice of the Virginia Supreme Court and he has expressed concerns about the way the various Circuit Courts have been flagrantly violating the law. It is strongly suggested that you complain directly to him. Be polite and provide as much detail as possible - names, dates, comments made by officials, documents provided by officials, etc.: 

Chief Justice
Supreme Court of Virginia
100 North Ninth Street, Fifth Floor
Richmond, VA 23219 

STATES THAT RECOGNIZE THE VIRGINIA PERMIT

 

 - Map courtesy HandgunLaw.us -

PLACES WHERE CARRY IS PROHIBITED IN VIRGINIA 

  • Important Notes
      • This information is effective as of July 1, 2012.  The next planned update is July 1, 2013.
      • Open Carry is legal in Virginia in most places with or without a Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP).
      • Concealed Carry requires, with a few exceptions, a CHP.  (See §18.2-308, Sections B & C, for the exceptions.)
      • However, some restrictions may apply.
  • Federal facilities (buildings)  (18 USC § 930)
  • Many federal agency lands  (various federal regulations)
  • National Forests -- open carry prohibited except where hunting is allowed  (4VAC15-40-60)
  • General Assembly Buildings except for CHP holders  (Joint Rules Committee rule)
  • Land owned or managed by the Department of Game and Inland Fisheries -- open carry prohibited except where hunting is allowed  (4VAC15-40-60)
  • Hog Island Wildlife Management Area  (4VAC15-40-120)
  • Buggs Island  (4VAC15-40-140)
  • Several colleges & universities have promulgated regulations prohibiting carry in buildings and at events:
  • Courthouses  (§18.2-283.1)
  • Detention Facilities  (§15.2-915)
  • K-12 school grounds (CHP holders exempted for concealed carry while in a vehicle)  (§18.2-308.1)
  • K-12 school buses  (§18.2-308.1)
  • Property used exclusively for K-12 school-sponsored functions  (§18.2-308.1)
  • Air carrier airport terminal buildings  (§18.2-287.01)
      • Charlottesville Regional Airport, Charlottesville, VA
      • Dulles International Airport, Chantilly, VA
      • Lynchburg Municipal Airport, Lynchburg, VA
      • Newport News Williamsburg Regional Airport, Newport News, VA
      • Norfolk International Airport, Norfolk, VA
      • Reagan National Airport, Arlington, VA
      • Richmond International Airport, Richmond, VA
      • Roanoke Regional Airport, Roanoke, VA
      • Shenandoah Valley Regional Airport, Staunton, VA
  • Places of worship while a meeting for religious purposes is being held "without good and sufficient reason"  (§18.2-283)
  • Restaurants & clubs -- concealed carry prohibited while consuming alcoholic beverages  (§18.2-308.J3)
  • Private property when prohibited by owner  (§18.2-308.O & trespass violation)

You can carry this info with you by printing your own VCDL Carry Card.